Google+

Event Horizon

2

December 20, 2013 by jonmillymiles


Event HorizonWow. All of a sudden everything has stopped. I have reached that point where time stands still, at least to those observing from a distance.

The past few months have been nothing short of manic. I have moved job, started my second year of university alongside a hectic family life with the wife and kids. All in all I have lost a little soul, abandoned most social media and buried my head in a mixture of applications, production, consultation and study. It has left little time for those that form the axis around which my world rotates.

So, what’s happened?

I moved position, with a promotion and I am now responsible for the servers, applications and implementation of a training network – but not the one in my last job. What makes this one different is I get to have a say about what is run on it and how it is used. To the point that I am designing the application architecture, managing the implementation of the software and the data migration. This is just the beginning and the weight of responsibility is great.

This role has required me to work away for short periods, but at a time of year when the family are getting knocked left right and centre with bugs and colds this has not been easy. The strain placed on my family has been great, but the support from my loved ones has been overwhelming. In the darkest days I have wanted to walk away from it all, but my wife is my voice of reason in troubled times and kept me going.

And then university started. With the move to the new job I had lost day release, and something that is under negotiation but vital if I am to be able to continue. In honesty I hit the floor hard. I didn’t know what modules I was taking until about four to five weeks in. Funding was delayed and the support wasn’t necessarily the best for distance learning. So at about three weeks before first hand in I pushed… hard… and met my hand in date with a submission less than I would have liked. It should be enough to secure a grade and I know that I have still managed to produce more than others.

Christmas has come and gone and my second assignment for this year has been submitted. The network is getting there… you can smell the new infrastructure in place and all of the bits are running in and out of the wireless devices happy. You wait until the boredom sets in!!!

This week I have been building the servers. The first to be finished is a Linux (Centos 6.5 64-bit) server hosting Moodle 2.5.3 and today we got the virtual machine finished, and all required plug-ins included, and the theme given a corporate look and feel. This server is the fall back, it is a simple single server build but it will do everything what we need it to for a year or so. Tomorrow I begin building the proper two – full size partitions, full complement of RAM and a split between the database and the web storage as this will increase the responsiveness of the site. Then I have more to build, but more on that later!!

Sometimes, when you stop and take stock you can see how much you have achieved: you can look back and be proud of your efforts.

Looking back, I can honestly say that I could not have done any more. So, I’m going to post a video of a song that makes me glow inside, I just happen to love 80’s pop!!! Enjoy 😉

2 thoughts on “Event Horizon

  1. navinder vilkhou says:

    Great post. Very honest. Also a big 80s fan. 🙂

    • Navinder, thank you. This was the hardest post that I have done, I found it hard to get the right balance between reflection and throwing my fishing line out in the vague hope of catching some sympathy.

      All in all I made some choices that caused me some stress, the upshot was that I had a lovely Christmas with my nearest and dearest. I think I made the right choice.

      Sorry about the quality on this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EQZN3CwydI

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,166 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 580 other followers

Archive

